Fixing slow mouse performance on vmWare vSphere Client

I’m adding this as a reference because I keep having to search for it! When using vSphere Client and opening up a console the mouse moves intolerably slowly on any Windows Server 2008 R2 guest operating system. This is due to driver problems and can be fixed by following this vmWare knowledgebase article and installing the SVGA drivers included with vmWare 4.0 Update 1 (or later).

One extra trick of note – when I opened up Device Manager on one of my guest servers there was no Display Adapter node available at all. I had to go into the View menu and select “Show hidden devices”. The device was then available in “Other Devices” and I could right-click and “Upgrade driver…” from there. The rest of the knowledgebase article worked fine, and I now have a nice fast mouse cursor!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

