Fixing SharePoint 2013: Sideloading of apps is not enabled on this site

I am using Visual Studio 2012 to develop SharePoint Apps for my on-premise SharePoint 2013 environment. I wanted to set up a simple dev environment for one of my host-header site collections, but when I tried to deploy my SharePoint App I got the error:

Sideloading of apps is not enabled on this site

The feature required to enable sideloading is as follows:

DisplayName: EnableAppSideLoading

Id: ae3a1339-61f5-4f8f-81a7-abd2da956a7d

CompatibilityLevel: 15

To enable sideloading, use the following PowerShell commands:


$site = Get-SPSite "http://your.site.url"

$sideLoadingId = new-object System.Guid "ae3a1339-61f5-4f8f-81a7-abd2da956a7d"

$site.Features.Add($sideLoadingId)

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Fixing SharePoint 2013: Sideloading of apps is not enabled on this site”

  1. Dan Gleason Says:

    I think there is a typo:
    Should: $site.Features.Add($sideLoadingGuid)
    Be: $site.Features.Add($sideLoadingId)

    Thanks,
    Dan Gleason

  2. Trey N Says:

    The variable called in line 5 does not match the one declared on line 3 (ID vs GUID).

  3. KCizzle Says:

    This did not work for me howeever this did:

    Enable-SPFeature e374875e-06b6-11e0-b0fa-57f5dfd72085 –url http://your.site.url

Leave a Reply

